top of page

I'll take a little summer with my winter please..



Seasonal depression has become more and more discussed throughout the years. I've mentioned in last year's seasonal depression post that I have struggled with this before even knowing exactly what it was. I noticed that I would get sadder in the winter months and "get it together" right in time for spring break and summer festivities. Looking at the summer version of myself no one would of thought I had skipped multiple classes, slept all semester and became a literal hermit. This blog post is about how to bring a little summer into your winter.


I would of loved to keep the following items on the free side but honestly this is what works for me...

  • A salt lamp/SAD lamp or even a light up diffuser or LED lights. I love turning on the lights to a orange sunset colour on dark days and red when I'm ready to go to bed. This is not just an odd preference but backed by science. Light that mimics the sunlight makes you happier.

  • Make time to go outside before the sun sets. I take two walks a day one for my dog's sake and the second for myself. I am still struggling to make it out before 5pm when it's dark but there is a huge difference.

  • Take your vitamin D. I've been taking vitamin D more frequently than last year because not only am I a vegetarian but with Covid-19 floating around, the choice was simple.

  • Do what you want to do. If you don't want to go to the gym or meet up with someone don't do it! Hibernating season is coming around and it's only natural to want to retrieve just don't guilt yourself for doing so.

  • Take magnesium

  • A weighted blanket. I purchased a weighted blanket almost a year ago and I haven't regretted it since. It somehow just grounds you and calms you.

  • Wake up at a regular time. Even if you sleep in or take naps make sure to schedule them at the same time everyday. Stability personally helps keep depression at bay.

  • Open the blinds

  • Have a routine you enjoy (yoga & meditation, skincare, reading, journalling etc)

  • Drink 2-3 (or more) cups of tea per day

  • Eat hot foods like oatmeal, stews, soups (with pumpkin, winter squash, sweet potato which are full of vitamins) etc.

  • Consider therapy and talking to your doctor about your depression. If you mentally and emotionally struggle around the holidays and winter seasons talk to a professional.

Take care of yourself this winter/holiday season,




Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page