top of page

day 1

"skip the drama, skip the panic and just do it", that is the mantra i'm working with people! It's picking up the phone to meditate instead of lying there letting the anxiety suck me in. It's getting the dog, playing my audiobook (currently relistening to The Universe Has your Back and walking for 15 mins. It's staying consistent with my 30 day yoga challenge and remembering to choose positive thoughts over negative ones. It's reading more than I scroll and listening more than I talk.

That's what is called the holy instance. As I read in The Universe Has your Back by Gabrielle Bernstein, the holy instance is the immediate shift from dark to light, from destructive to productive and negative thoughts and feelings to positive thoughts and feelings. It's making the decision to think and move differently. It's coming to the realization that if this is something you don't want to attract more of in your life; you are allowed to surrender the nagging thought. You actively make the conscious decision to view yourself, your situation and others through a lens of love over a lens of fear, judgement, rejection, past hurt, expectations etc. Becoming aware that this shift of perspective is always available has helped me almost "snap out" of my anxious feelings that have only been creeping up more and more as soon as I open my eyes in the morning...

As the new year is beginning, the holy instance will be a great reminder that I have the power to restart and think differently as long as I am aware that that option is always available to me. This kind of reminds me of the 5 Second Rule by Mel Robbins. The idea she presents is to count backwards from 5 and then just do it! Just take one step and then another and before you know you're going on that run you didn't want to go on. Just keep your book in your bag or on your side table and maybe read one page, then read 5 tomorrow and 10 the next day and soon you'll have read a whole book in a week! I use this when it comes to chores and when my goals seem extremely daunting.

"How do you eat an elephant?, one bite at a time" - Creighton Abrams

I can choose to forgive myself, let go of past mistakes and switch gears. I can choose to not be consumed by my anxieties that keep me stuck in a yucky place physically, emotionally and mentally. I can choose to believe that I will eventually get it, that am I allowed to make mistakes, that this is all part of the process. And this is not to let myself off the hook when it comes to my new years intentions, but to give myself permission to be human by honoring everything that I feel and everything that I am and everything that I am experiencing.

cheers, xo

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page